Learn the ancient art of self-defence, and receive gifts you never realized existed. Join us, and get the rewards you deserve.

Ottawa at (613) 733-9236


Kids Karate, Self-Defence & Grappling Tournament

We will be organizing another kids karate, grappling & self-defence tournament.  The choreographed forms (kata) division will be judged based on technical precision, speed, power and flow of the techniques.  The standing combat (kumite) division will be a double elimination contest with light contact to the body and no contact to the face, back or groin areas.  Each free sparring match will last up to 3 minutes or when one competitor reaches 3 points.  Protective head, hand and foot pads will be provided. The self-defence division will judge how a contestant deals with two different attack scenarios (HAPV) of their choice.  An average score will be given based on how effectively (automatically, quickly, & convincingly) contestants defend against the two scenarios.  The position only grappling division will consist of 3 minute ground grappling without submissions.  It will start in a kneeling position with 1 point awarded for any side control, mount, rear side control, rear mount, north south, or knee on stomach that is attained and maintained clearly for 3 seconds.  The guard is neutral, but a clean sweep or pass is 1 point.  If a competitor taps out because they are tired or stuck the win will be awarded to the opponent. There are no applied submissions allowed under these rules. Friends and parents are encouraged to attend, take pictures, and cheer on the competitors.

Dates: Saturday March 17 @ 12 pm – 4 pm

Location: Canterbury Community Center, 2185 Arch Street, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada, K1G 2H5.

 Ottawa Winter Schedule

Week

Monday

Thursday

Saturday

Mon Jan 8
Stand Up Kata / Self-Defence Groundwork
Mon Jan 15
Self-Defence / Weapon Stand Up Kata / Self-Defence
Mon Jan 22
Groundwork Self-Defence / Weapon Stand Up
Mon Jan 29
Kata / Self-Defence Groundwork Self-Defence / Weapon
Mon Feb 5
Stand Up
Kata / Self-Defence Groundwork
Mon Feb 12
Self-Defence / Weapon Stand Up Kata / Self-Defence
Mon Feb 19
NO CLASS
Self-Defence / Weapon Stand Up
Mon Feb 26
Kata / Self-Defence Groundwork Self-Defence / Weapon
Mon Mar 5
Stand Up Kata / Self-Defence Groundwork
Mon Mar 12
Self-Defence / Weapon Stand Up Kids Tournament
Mon Mar 19
Groundwork Self-Defence / Weapon Stand Up
Mon Mar 26
Kata / Self-Defence NO CLASS NO CLASS
Mon Apr 2
Stand Up NO CLASS NO CLASS
Mon Apr 9
Kata / Self-Defence NO CLASS NO CLASS

July 10 &11, 2004

"The Secrets of Karate" Seminar
with Hanshi Patrick McCarthy


Patrick McCarthy is one of the few foreigners to actually teach karate-do in Japan.

Click here for more events...